top of page

You've Been Lied To: "W" is actually a vowel (well, partially)

You heard me right! The letter "W" is actually a partial vowel!!

"What? That's impossible! "W" is like the most consonant-ish consonant to ever consonant!"

I know, I know, but just hear me out! I've got one simple question for you! What is the letter W's name?

... well of course, it's "double U" ... are you trying to tell me that that's the only reason it's a vowel?

Sort of, but I've only scratched the surface! I've obviously got some explaining to do...

So, knowing that "W" is called "double U" in English helps us begin to unravel its true identity as a semi-vowel!

Most people are confused as to why "w" can be found in words such as "answer" and "sword". I mean it makes sense... shouldn't they be prononuced as {ann-swer} and {swored} ?

Well, the positioning of "w" in both of these words makes sense if you consitered the TRUE pronunciation of "w"!

Most people assume that the letter W has always made the flat "wuh" sound it makes in modern English. However, the original letter lived up to its name! The original sound of the "w" was an enlongated 'oo' sound or {uu}.

**theory**

If you insert the {uu} sound where the 'w' is positioned in these words, they somewhat retain their sound! Answer becomes {annesoor} and sword becomes {soo-ord}! Is it possible that we just flattened out the sound as time progressed? *end theory*

Either way, it comes down to W being in the same situation as Y. It is a vowel sometimes, depending on where it is placed in a word! Guess 'W' isn't exactly the cookie-cutter consonant we always assumed it was...

~~Thanks for reading!

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page